Early Years

Early Years Foundation Stage is made up of Nursery classes and Reception Classes.

Nursery           3-4 year olds
Reception        4-5 year olds

In Early Years the children work to the Statutory Framework for Early Years Foundation Stage which sets out the standards for learning, development and care for children from birth to five years.  This is organised into seven different areas of learning and development as follows:

The 3 Prime Areas of Learning

  1. Communication and Language
  2. Physical Development
  3. Personal, Social and Emotional Development

The 4 Specific Areas of Learning

  1. Literacy
  2. Mathematics
  3. Understanding the World
  4. Expressive Arts and Design

The Statutory Framework for Early Years Foundation Stage can be found here.

In Nursery and Reception, children learn through play and direct teaching.  Their learning is organised into half termly topics.  Please follow the Curriculum Organization handout for further information about the organisation of our curriculum.

In Early Years, children are assessed against 17 Early Learning Goals. The expected attainment for children at the end of the Reception year is to meet the 17 Early Learning Goals. Where a child starts Early Years below age related expectations, they may not have reached the Early Learning Goal by the end of Reception.  In this case, we use the Birth to Five Matters ranges to support our assessments.

Phone: 0207 387 5909
Fax: 0207 380 1518
29 Camden Street
Richard Cobden Primary School